

Delegate Meeting Minutes

Metropolitan Washington Council, AFL-CIO

Meeting called to order at 7:45pm by President Joslyn Williams.

This was a special meeting called for the sole purpose of making decisions about political endorsements in state and local races within the jurisdiction of the Metro Washington Council, AFL-CIO.

NO POSITION means the MWC AFL-CIO takes no position in a race, leaving locals free to make their own decisions about candidates

NO ENDORSEMENT means the MWC AFL-CIO opposes a candidate's endorsement and encourages locals to refrain from making any endorsement of that candidate.

NO RECOMMENDATION means the MWC AFL-CIO has nothing to say about a given race.

ENDORSEMENT of a candidate(s) requires a 2/3 majority.

To be considered for endorsement, candidates must have returned a completed questionnaire by the publicized deadline.

New Delegates sworn in:

Sian Lewis (AFSCME Council 67); Michele Lewis (AFSCME Council 26); Mark McLaurin (SEIU 500); Belinda Wiley (AFGE 383)

The Delegates considered the

recommendations of the Executive Board, discussed, amended or accepted the recommendations. These are the results:

Endorsement in Local Races- these are final endorsements

District of Columbia

DC City Council Chairman-No Position

Ward 6 Councilmember- No Position

Prince George's County

County Council:

District 1 – Sam Epps

District 2 – Will Campos

District 3 – Eric Olsen,

District 4 – Ingrid Turner

District 5 – Andrea Harrison District 6 – Derrick Davis

(ATU 689 requested to be

recorded voting against)

District 7 – Karen Toles

District 8 – Obie Patterson District 9 – Mel Franklin

County Offices:

Sheriff – No Position Register of Wills – Cereta Lee State's Attorney – No Position

Montgomery County

County Executive - Ike Leggett

County Council

District 1- Roger Berliner District 2 - Craig Rice District 3 - No Endorsement (Phil Andrews) District 4 - Nancy Navarro District 5 - Valerie Irvin

At-Large

George Leventhal Mark Elrich Hans Reimer Nancy Floreen

Sheriff- No Position

Maryland General Assembly Races-

Please Note: These are recommendations only- the Maryland State and DC AFL-CIO makes final endorsement Tuesday July 20 at its Executive Board and State COPE meeting.

Montgomery County Legislative Districts

District 14

State Senate: Karen Montgomery House of Delegates: Anne Kaiser, Eric Luedtke, Craig Zucker

District 15

State Senate: Robert Garagiola
House of Delegates: Kathleen
Dumais, Brian Feldman, Lara

District 16

Wibeto

State Senate: Brian Frosh House of Delegates: Bill Frick, Susan Lee, No Position in the 3rd spot

District 17

State Senate: No Position House of Delegates: Luiz Simmons, Kumar Barve, No

July 19, 2010

Recommendation 3rd spot

District 18

State Senate: Rich Madaleno House of Delegates: Ana Sol Gutierrez, Jeff Waldstreicher, No Position 3rd spot

District 19

State Senate: No Recommendation House of Delegates: Bonnie Cullison, Jay Hutchins, Ben Kramer

District 20

State Senate: Jamie Raskin House of Delegates: Sheila Hixson, Tom Hucker, Heather Mizeur

District 39

State Senate: No Position House of Delegates: Charles Barkley, Kirill Reznik, Shane Robinson

<u>Prince George's County Legislative Districts</u>

District 21

State Senate – Jim Rosapepe House of Delegates- Joseline Pena Melnyk, Barbara Frush, Ben Barnes

District 22

State Senate - Paul Pinsky House of Delegates- Justin Ross, Ann Healy, Tawana Gaines

District 23

State Senate - Doug Peters House of Delegates- James Hubbard, Marvin Holmes, No Position for 3rd Spot

District 24

State Senate - No Position House of Delegates- Carolyn Howard, Michael Vaughn, Greg Hall

District 25

State Senate - Ulysses Currie House of Delegates- Aisha Braveboy, Melony Griffith, Dereck Davis (with the proviso that MWC and MD.DC send him letters regarding his anti-CWA behavior and request a meeting)

District 26

State Senate - Anthony Muse House of Delegates- Veronica Turner, Kris Valderrama, NO Endorsement of Jay Walker

District 27

State Senate- Defer to Md/DC AFL-CIO (Miller refused to fill out questionnaire) House of Delegates- James Proctor, Joseph Vallario

District 47

State Senate- No Position House of Delegates- Doyle Niemann, Jolene Ivey, No Position 3rd spot

Tri-County Legislative Districts

District 27-B

House of Delegates- Sue Kullen

District 28

State Senate- Mac Middleton House of Delegates- Peter Murphy, Gary Hodge, Jim Easter

District 29

State Senate- Roy Dyson House of Delegates- John Bohanan

A recommendation from Tri-County COPE was inadvertently left off the list of candidates for consideration by the Executive Board. It was moved, seconded and adopted to endorse Cliff Savoy, member of Sheet Metal Local 100. for the Calvert County Democratic Central Committee and the Rick Powell, Alya Solomon, Calvert County School Board. It was moved, seconded and approved to send a letter to At-Large DC City Councilmember Kwame Brown, expressing our concern and dismay at his harsh treatment of labor representatives at the hearing on the Economic Stimulus bill held at the end of June.

President Williams announced that he was not prepared to make a report on the proposal for the running of an independent campaign in the race for Mayor of the District of Columbia. He will discuss this proposal with the Executive Board as soon as possible. He also encouraged all locals to plan on attending Labor's reception for endorsed Mayoral Candidate Vincent Gray on July 27, from 5P-7P at IBEW, 900 7th Street NW. Maximum contribution is \$2000, checks to be made payable to Vincent Gray for Mayor.

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 9:30pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Merle Cuttitta, Secretary

ATTENDANCE

STAFF

Kathleen McKirchy, Adam Wright

DELEGATES Fred Allen (GCIU 538-C); Adebayo Arowolaju (DCNA); Mackenzie Baris (DC Jobs with Justice): Brian Benson (IATSE 22); Dwight Bowman (AFGE District 14); Dena Briscoe (APWU, Nation's Capital and Southern MD Local); Avis Buchanan (AFGE 2782); Todd Buckner (BAC 1); Ernest Cardwell (WBCTC); Carl Carson (Cement Masons Local 891); Milo Chaffee (Sheet Metal Workers 100); Mark Coles (WBCTC); Cynthia Collins (SEIU 400 PG); Stephen Courtien (IUPAT 51); Merle Cuttitta (SEIU 500); Vanessa Dixon (Doctors Council DC / AFSCME NUHHCE); Daniel Fields (SEIU 722); Anthony Frederick (Laborers 657); Ronald Freeland (Laborers 657); Riley Gaines (IBEW 26); Carl Goldman (AFSCME Council 26); Larry Greenhill (IBEW 26); Bridget Hamilton (American Income Life); George Hogan (IBEW 26); Jessica Ingerick (OPEIU 277); Gwend Johnson (CBTU DC Chapter); Faith Jones (AFSCME 2250); James Lowery (IUEC 10); Robert Mayfield (AFGE 2978); Mark McLaurin (SEIU 500); Michael Murphy (IUOE 99); Elaine Newman (NCAUR); Tony Perez (UFCW 400); Doris Reed (ASASP); Carnell Reed (SEIU 400 PG); David Richardson (AFGE Council 1); David Rodich (SEIU 500): Clifton Savoy (Sheet Metal Workers 100); Rodney Sewell (LIUNA 657); Craig Simpson (ATU 689); Eric Starin (OPEIU 2); Bob Stewart (UFCW 1994 MCGEO); Jimmy Tarlau (CWA District 2); Tyrone Thomas (Ironworkers 5); John Walker (AFGE 383); Gerald Warrick (Laborers 657); Hugh Weathers (ASASP)

GUESTS

Desmond Serrette (Office of Congresswoman Donna Edwards); Sybil Williams (AFGE 2876)