

Delegate's Meeting Minutes

Metropolitan Washington Council, AFL-CIO

Special Call Delegate Meeting

National Labor College: September 17 Lane Kirkland Center opening reported on by Ed Smith.

DC Public Schools Community Liaison Project Manager Kris Tyler Benja-

Delegate Attendance

Baxter, Randall AFSCME 3976 Buchanan, Avis AFGE 2782 Cernak, Louis IUOE 99 Clay I. Chuck IATSE 22 Fields, Jr, Daniel SEIU 722 Gibson, William TEAMSTERS 96 Hershfield, David AFGE 12 Hogan, George IBEW 26 Murphy, Michael IUOE 99 Newman, Elaine NCAUR Reed, Carnell SEIU 400 PG Reed, Doris ASASP Scott, Randolph IBEW 26 Sexton, Mark IUOE 99 Shields, John Washington Bldg Trades Walker, John AFGE 383 Warrick, Gerald LABORERS 657 Webb Thomas AFGE 3615 Also attending: Allen, Jimmy, ATU 689 Bell, Tommy, 1975 Dixon, Vanessa, Doctors Council Gaines, Riley, IBEW 26 Hoffman, Ann, NWU Martin-Gross, Yvette, AFGE 631 Mitchell, Joan AFGE 383

min reported that volunteers are needed to assist with the 8/26 DCPS Annual Beautification Project.

President Williams thanked everyone for attending last Thursday's NLRB demonstration/CD, reminding delegates that this will not be the last action there, depending on what rulings the Board hands down in the next few months.

Craig Simpson reviewed the actions & recommendations made by the Executive Board.

It was moved & seconded to approve the DC recommendations. Moved to amend the motion to separate DC Council Chair recommendation from the main motion. Jerry Lozupone (WBCTC) argued that there was almost 2/3 support for Kathy Patterson in the Executive Board vote and he'd like delegates to have a chance to vote on Patterson. The motion failed 25-18; the original motion was approved overwhelmingly.

Jim Lowery (IUEC 10) pointed out that in St Mary's, there were only 4 candidates for the Democratic Central Committee until labor jumped in, now there are 12 candidates, so this proved labor can have an impact.

Craig Simpson and Rick Powell reported on plans for labor's field campaign, emphasizing that victory depends on turning out as many volunteers and voters as possible.

Fred Allen reported on DC Ward 5 activities.

Meeting adjourned 7:43P

COPE 50/50 won by Bernard Robinson, AFGE 2741

ENDORSEMENTS & RECOM-MENDATIONS APPROVED BY THE DELEGATES OF THE MET-ROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL AFL-CIO, Monday, June 19, 2006

(includes final recommendations approved July 17, 2006)

ENDORSEMENTS (see next page for Legislative District recommendations)

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA EN-DORSEMENTS

Delegate to House (At Large): Eleanor Holmes Norton Mayor: Linda Cropp Council (At Large): Phil Mendelson Council 1: Jim Graham Council 3: Paul Strauss Council 5: Harry Thomas Jr. Council 6: Tommy Wells Shadow Senator (At Large): Phillip Pannell

MONTGOMERY LOCAL OFFICE ENDORSEMENTS

Council 1: Howie Denis Council 2: Mike Knapp Council 3: Bob Dorsey Council 5: Valerie Ervin Council At Large: Mike Subin Council At Large : George Leventhal Council At Large : Duchy Trachtenburg Council At Large : Marc Elrich State Atty (At Large): John McCarthy Sheriff (At Large): Ray Kight Clerk of Court (At Large): Caryn Hines School Board (At Large): Shirley Brandman School Board 5: Nancy Navarro

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY LOCAL OFFICE ENDORSE-MENTS Council 1: Tom Dernoga Council 2: Will Campos Council 3: Eric Olson Council 3: Eric Olson Council 4: Ingrid Turner Council 5: David Harrington Council 5: David Harrington Council 6: Sam Dean Council 7: Camille Exum Council 8: Tony Knotts Council 9: Fred Harley

July 17, 2006

State Atty: (At Large): Glenn Ivey Sheriff (At Large): Michael Jackson Clerk of Ct. (At Large): Flora Fortune Register of Wills (At Large): Ceretta Lee

School Board 1: Rosalind Johnson School Board 2: Heather Iliff School Board 3: Judy Mickens-Murray School Board 3: Patricia Fletcher School Board 4: Steve Morris School Board 5: Owen Johnson School Board (At Large): Howard Stone

School Board (At Large): Nate Thomas School Board (At Large): Jeana Jacobs School Board (At Large): Sherry Strother

CHARLES COUNTY LOCAL OF-FICE ENDORSEMENTS

President (At Large): Wayne Cooper Commissioner 1: Kathy Kazimer Commissioner 2: Edith Patterson Commissioner (D) 3: Reuben Collins Sheriff: Rex Coffey

CALVERT COUNTY LOCAL OF-FICE ENDORSEMENTS Commissioner (At Large): Dixie Miller Commissioner (At Large): Becky Tice Commissioner (At Large): Wilson Parran State's Attorney: Gregory Wells Sheriff: Don Brenneman (D); John Rodney Bartlett [R]

ST. MARY'S COUNTY LOCAL OF-FICE ENDORSEMENTS Commissioner 1: Elfreda Talbert Mathis Sheriff: David Zylak

RECOMMENDATIONS for action by the Maryland/DC State AFL-CIO

MONTGOMERY COUNTY RECOM-MENDATIONS

District 14 Delegate: Herman Taylor Delegate: Anne Kaiser Delegate: Karen Montgomery

District 15 Senate: Rob Garagiola Delegate: Kathleen Dumais



Delegate: Brian Feldman Delegate: Jean Cryor

District 16 Senate: Brian Frosh Delegate: Bill Bronrott Delegate: Susan Lee

District 17 Senate: Jennie Forehand Delegate: Kumar Barve Delegate: Lou Simmons Delegate: Elbridge James

District 18 Senate: Rich Madaleno Delegate: Ana Sol Guitierez Delegate: Jane Lawton

District 19 Delegate: Hank Heller Delegate: Roger Manno Delegate: Tom DeGonia

District 20 Senate: Ida Ruben Delegate: Sheila Hixon Delegate: Gareth Murray Delegate: Tom Hucker

District 39 Delegate: Nancy King Delegate: Charley Barkley Delegate: Joan Stern

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY RECOMMEN-DATIONS

District 21 Senate: John Gianetti Delegate: Barbara Frush Delegate: Brian Moe Delegate: Ben Barnes

District 22 Senate: Paul Pinsky Delegate: Tawanna Gaines Delegate: Justin Ross Delegate: Anne Healey

District 23 Senate: Douglas Peters

District 23A Delegate: Mary Conroy Delegate: James Hubbard

District 23B Delegate: Marvin Holmes

District 24 Senate: Nathaniel Exum Delegate: Carolyn Howard Delegate: Michael Vaughn Delegate: Joanne Benson

District 25 Senate: Ulysses Currie Delegate: Shirley Thompson District 26 Delegate: Veronica Turner Delegate: Darryl Kelley Delegate: Kris Valderrama

District 27A Delegate: Joe Vallario Delegate: James Proctor

District 47 Senate: Gwendolyn Britt Delegate: Doyle Nieman Delegate: Victor Ramirez Delegate: Rosetta Parker

TRI-COUNTY RECOMMENDATIONS

District 27b Delegate: Sue Kullen District 28 Senate: Thomas "Mac" Middleton District 28 Delegate: Peter Murphy District 29 Senate: Roy Dyson District 29b Delegate: John Bohanan

UNION LEADERS RUNNING FOR CENTRAL COMMITTEE

22 Prince Georges: Kurt Walter, Plumbers 5 Officer
24 Prince Georges: James W. Allen, ATU 689 Retired President
26 Prince Georges: Otis Ducker, AFM 161-710 Int. Exec. Board
At-Large Charles: Bill Groom, IUOE 77 Retired
At-Large Calvert: Ron Milligan, IUEC 10 Vice
President
At-Large Calvert: Steve Zimmerman, IBEW 26
Business Agent
At-Large St. Mary's: Walt Powell, IUOE 77
Guard/Organizer
At-Large St. Mary's: Joseph Knoefel, Laborers
657 Organizer