Metro Washington Council AFL-CIO Delegate Meeting Minutes December 18, 2017

Meeting called to order at 6:49pm by President Jeter.

Minutes from November delegate meeting: Page 2, change Adventist to convention and make it House of Representatives. Approved as corrected.

Financial report for December: Treasurer Eric Bunn reported on the current financial status of the Council. Moved by Herb Harris and seconded by Carl Carson. Passed unanimously.

Action items from Executive Board:

Approval of donation to Rev. Hagler's Plymouth Church of Christ for \$1,000 to support church renovation efforts. President Jeter reported that the board had voted to approve COPE recommendations for endorsements, which would be discussed later in the meeting.

CSA

Executive Director Kathleen McKirchy reported:

- Holiday Basket program: played OPEIU local 2 and AFGE video and thanked all locals who are participating.

- Bowling tournament 2018: January 28, 2018, flyers are out now. 10a and 1p sessions, as usual. Form teams and sign up now.

Union Cities

Chris announced the Making Change at Wal-mart campaign and showed video. SEIU 32BJ announced a 2-day strike at Dulles Airport.

COPE

David on work around para-professionals in DC, trying to get them year-round pay. DNCA 40 hour school nurses, provided emails for delegates to e-mail. Elizabeth Davis (WTU), Katrena Clark (DCNA) and Kimberly Mitchell (WTU) all spoke in support of 40hour nurses and the urgent need for nurses in schools. David Dzidzienyo also spoke on rally on December 7th for DCNA contract, reported on paid leave, and Washington Gas merger. Question from Ann Hoffman (NWU) on status of PG County Executive race; David told her that details would be out tomorrow about time and location for meeting. Doris Reed, PG Cope Chair, requested that people come prepared to vote for nominations. List of nomination recommendations from COPE and passed by Executive Board were then read out to delegates as follows:

- Prince George's County State's Attorney Candidate:
 - > Aisha Braveboy
- Prince George's Legislative District 25 Candidate:
 - ➢ Wala Blegay
- Montgomery County Legislative District 39 Candidates:

- Gabriel Acevero
- Bobby Bartlett
- Montgomery County Legislative District 19 Candidates:
 - Bonnie Cullison
 - Marlin Jenkins
 - Marice Ivette Morales

The nominations were approved unanimously.

Strategic Campaigns

Megan Fitzgerald reported on Community and Labor Summit and the success of the event. Herbert Harris reported on the recent transportation committee meeting. Megan also spoke about the Healthcare and K-12 Education committees.

REPORTS FROM LOCAL UNIONS

UNITE HERE 23, Josh Armstead, reported TA food group gave raises to employees, huge victory for workers. Also announced that they are gearing up for fight at Georgetown University for graduate student union. Also asked delegates to show solidarity to the DACA detainees who were performing a hunger strike.

WTU 6, Jared Catapano reported Caesar Chavez Charter School is pushing back on teachers forming union.

AFSCME 2921, Michael Flood reported that they are in negotiations with city but keep running into issues with data.

WTU 6, Elizabeth Davis: language for student loans being re-written, need by 1/1/2018. Request for local unions to sign on in support.

UFCW 400, Kimberly Mitchell thanked CSA for use of their emergency funds, which helped pay her bills.

BLET/IBT Herbert Harris, Spoke on derailment in Washington State, asked to keep those family and union members in our prayers.

Adjourned 8:35pm

Raffle: \$45 won by Josh Armstead, UNITE HERE 23

Attendees:

Name	Union
Josh Armstead	Unite Here 23
Carl Carson	OPCM 891
Jared Catapano	WTU 6
Barbara Childs	AFSA/CSO 4
Katrena Clark	DCNA
Jim Cullen	AFSCME 2250 (ACE-AFSCME)
Elizabeth Davis	WTU 6

Michael Flood	AFSCME 2921
Laura Fuchs	WTU 6
Riley Gaines	IBEW 26
Larry Greenhill Jr	IBEW 26
Kimberly Hall	Asian Pacific American Labor Alliance
Korey Hartwich	NNU
Robert Hayden	AFGE 2725
Myra Hines	DCNA
Thoa Hoang	APALA
Ann Hoffman	NWU/UAW 1981
Robert	AFSCME 2776
Hollingsworth	
Jackie Jeter	ATU 689
Roland Jeter	ATU 689
Doris Johnson	AFGE 65
Kim Mitchell	UFCW 400
Kathleen Moors	IUOE Local 99
Elaine Newman	NCAUR
Michael Noble	Smart 100
Doris Reed	ASASP
David Richardson	AFGE 12
Tyrone Richardson	Teamsters 730
Marsha Ridley	Local 730 Teamsters
Saul Schniderman	AFSCME 2910
Tony Spruill	ASASP
Aaron Tyler	IBEW 1900
Gina Walton	AFGE 1975
Robert D. Williams	NALC 142