

Metropolitan Washington Council, AFL-CIO

DELEGATE MEETING MINUTES: March 21, 2016

Meeting called to order at 6:30pm

Minutes (February 2016): moved, seconded and approved.

Financial Report (February 2016); received.

Correspondence: recommendations of the 3/17 Executive Board approved (see below for detail; total \$1,875 JUFJ 4/10/2016 Labor Seder \$500 IBEW 26 5/7/2016 Poker Run \$250 ILRF 5/12/2016 Labor Rights Defenders Awards RECEIVE Affordable Housing Conf MontCO 5/16/2016 RECEIVE Teamsters 639 5/20/2016 Feaster Golf Tourney \$500 IBEW 26 6/10/2016 Bowling Tournament RECEIVE MD State & DC AFL-CIO 6/17/2016 Salute to Leadership RECEIVE US Labor Against the War annual dues (2015/16) \$625

President Jos Williams asked for a suspension of the regular order of business; approved unanimously.

President Williams turned the meeting over to the Elections Committee Chairman Mike Murphy, IUOE 99, who thanked the members of the committee- Ann Hoffman (NWU), Eric Starin (OPEIU2), Ed Hill (AFGE 2782), Robin Burns (DCNA) for their work. Murphy then moved election of the following officers as nominated at the February 22 meeting: President: Jackie Jeter, ATU 689; 1st Vice President: Gino Renne, UFCW 1994; 2nd VP: Andrew Washington, AFSCME Council 20; 3rd VP: Sandra Falwell, DCNA; Secretary: Dena Briscoe, APWU 140; Treasurer: Eric Bunn, AFGE District 14; Board 1: Jim Griffin, IBEW 1900; Board 2: Steve Courtien, DC 51/CHOICE; Board 3: Chuck Clay, IATSE 22; Board 4: Dan Dyer, OPEIU 2; Board 5: Carl Goldman, AFSCME Council 26; Board 6: Don Havard, IUOE 99; Board 7: Larry Greenhill Sr, IBEW 26; Board 8: Doris Reed, ASASP; Board 9: Ed Smith, IAFF 36; Board 10: Dave Richardson, AFGE 12; Board 11: John Shields, SMART; Board 12: Cynthia Collins, SEIU 400-PG; Board 13: Mike Flood, AFSCME 2921; Board 14: Aaron Bast, Iron 5; Board 15: Jaime Contreras, SEIU 32BJ; Board 16: Liz Davis, WTU 6; Trustees: Mark Federici, UFCW 400; Dan Fields, SEIU 722; Tommy Ratliff, Teamsters 639. The nominations were moved, seconded and unanimously approved.

Present: Bast, Bridges, Briscoe, Bunn, Clay, Collins, Contreras, Courtien, Davis, Dyer, Falwell, Fields, Flood, Goldman, Greenhill Sr., Griffin, Havard, Jeter, Reed, Richardson, Shields, Smith, Washington Excused: Federici Staff: McKirchy, Garlock, Dzidzienyo

President Williams thanked the Elections Committee and congratulated the newly-

elected leadership. He added that it has been an honor to serve the Council and the labor movement over the last 34 years and that he's happy to be leaving it in such good hands. Williams said that he's looking forward to continuing to fight for worker rights and to being a part of the movement as a rank-and-file member. He then introduced AFL-CIO Executive Vice President Tefere Gebre for swearing-in of officers. Gebre recognized Jos Williams' longtime leadership in building one of the best labor councils in the country and praised Jeter's election as a signal that organized labor leaders are becoming more reflective of the workers they represent. "Jackie Jeter is well known as a fearless and determined leader who keeps the interests of working people uppermost in all she does," Gebre said.

Remarks by President-elect Jackie Jeter: Jeter said that "Our board represents the best of two worlds: battle-tested veterans and new leaders eager to take up the fight. Together, we can make a real difference for working people in our region." Jeter, currently serving her fourth term as president of the ATU Local 689, began her trade union career as a shop steward and advanced through the leadership ranks. She then introduced the 2nd VP Andrew Washington, 3rd VP Sandra Falwell, DCNA, Secretary Dena Briscoe, APWU 140 and Treasurer Eric Bunn, AFGE District 14 and invited them to say a few words, after which she introduced new Metro Washington Council Executive Director Carlos Jimenez, who said he's "looking forward to getting to know everyone and working with you to build power."

Meeting adjourned at 7:30pm, followed immediately by a reception

Respectfully submitted, Dena Briscoe, Secretary