

Metropolitan Washington Council, AFL-CIO

DELEGATE MEETING MINUTES: February 22, 2016

Meeting called to order 6:42p by President Williams.

Capers, IBEW 26; Walter Carroll, IBEW 26; Seth Couslar, AFSCME 1653; Paul Henriques, IBEW 26; Asher Huey, DC/ Baltimore Pride @ Work; Justin Kenny, IUEC 10; Richard Murphy, IBEW 26; Gregory Warner, IBEW 26; Jerry Williford, Jr, IBEW 26

Minutes (December delegate's meeting). Moved, seconded and approved.

Financial Report (January 2016) Moved, seconded and approved.

Correspondence: None reported.

Community Services Agency: No report

Union Cities

Safeway warehouse update: Tommy Ratliff (Teamsters 639) reported on the successful campaign to save hundreds of jobs at the Safeway warehouse in Upper Landover, MD. Unite Here 23/I.L. Creations: Allison Burket reported on Local 23's upcoming campaign to win a contract with I.L. Crea-

2016 LaborFest: Coordinator Chris Garlock reported that planning is underway for this year's LaborFest and DC LaborFilmFest; more details soon.

Evening with Labor

Chair Fred Allen (GCC/IBT) reported that 600 tickets have been sold so far, that local reporter Tom Sherwood will MC the event and that ads will be accepted up to COB on Weds.

COPE: No report

Affiliate Reports

Eric Starin, OPEIU 2: Reported that Local 2's contract at WMATA expires June 30 "and its going to be real tough," noting that WMATA has hired -- at great expense -- the lawyer who helped break Detroit unions.

John Shields, SMART 100: The local has signed two new full mechanical contractors. WE Bowers and SSM. Chuck Clay: IATSE 22: Very sad to report that they lost Douglas Grekin, Vice President for Local 22, who died unexpectedly while on the road with a production. The delegates observed a moment of silence in honor of Brother Grekin.

Dena Briscoe, APWU 140: Their contract at the USPS expired last May and is now in interest arbitration: the USPS New delegate swearing in: Olubukunola Alao, DCNA; James wants to add a fourth lower wage tier and eliminate the no

> Bruce Wolf, OPEIU 2: Reported on upcoming DC labor peace and justice vigil to end war; will forward details for posting on the Council's website.

Jim Griffin, IBEW 1900: The local is expecting a decision on the Exelon-PepCo merger any day. Griffin also reported that Local 1900 is trying to organize the Calvert Cliffs power plant now, "so if any unions have members working there for maintenance contractors, please let us know." Gwend Johnson, DC CBTU: CBTU's convention will be held in DC May 20-25 at the Washington Hilton; all are invited to attend. The DC chapter is also asking for volunteers to help with the convention.

After a brief break, the meeting reconvened at 7:26.

New Business

Special Order of Business: Executive Board nominations President Williams turned the gavel over to Mike Murphy. chair of the Election Committee. Murphy introduced the committee members -- Ann Hoffman, NWU; Ed Hill, AFGE 2782; Eric Starin, OPEIU 2; Robin Burns, DCNA -- and then reviewed the election rules. Murphy then opened the nominations, which follow:

President: Jackie Jeter, ATU 689, nominated by Liz Davis,

1st Vice President: Gino Renne, UFCW 1994 (Jackie Jeter, ATU 689)

2nd VP: Andrew Washington, AFSCME Council 20 (Eric Bunn, AFGE District 14)

3rd VP: Sandra Falwell, DCNA (Jackie Jeter, ATU 689) Secretary: Dena Briscoe, APWU 140 (Jackie Jeter, ATU

Treasurer: Eric Bunn, AFGE District 14 (Donna Brockington, AFGE)

Board 1: Jim Griffin, IBEW 1900 (Jerry Williford, IBEW

Board 2: Steve Courtien, DC 51/CHOICE (Gino Renne, UFCW 1994)

Board 3: Chuck Clay, IATSE 22 (Lauren Rogers, IATSE

Board 4: Dan Dyer, OPEIU 2 (Jackie Jeter, ATU 689) Board 5: Carl Goldman, AFSCME Council 26 (Jackie Jeter, ATU 689)

Board 6: Don Havard, IUOE 99 (Mark Sexton, IUOE 99)



Metropolitan Washington Council, AFL-CIO

DELEGATE MEETING MINUTES: December 14, 2015

Board 7: Larry Greenhill Sr, IBEW 26 (Fred Allen, GCIU)

Board 8: Doris Reed, ASASP (Dena Briscoe, APWU 140)

Board 9: Ed Smith, IAFF 36 (Jackie Jeter, ATU 689)

Board 10: Dave Richardson, AFGE 12 (Eric Bunn, AFGE District 14)

Board 11: John Shields, SMART (Steve Courtien, DC 51/CHOICE)

Board 12: Cynthia Collins, SEIU 400-PG (Jackie Jeter, ATU 689)

Board 13: Mike Flood, AFSCME 2921 (Andrew Washington, AFSCME Council 20)

Board 14: Aaron Bast, Iron 5 (Gino Renne, UFCW 1994/MCGEO)

Board 15: Jaime Contreras, SEIU 32BJ (Jackie Jeter, ATU 689)

Board 16: Liz Davis, WTU 6 (Gino Renne, UFCW 1994/MCGFO)

Trustees: Mark Federici, UFCW 400 (Jackie Jeter, ATU 689); Dan Fields, SEIU 722 (Gino Renne, UFCW 1994/MCGEO); Tommy Ratliff, Teamsters 639 (Jackie Jeter, ATU 689).

In response to a question about the constituency group seat, president Williams reminded delegates that a meeting of the constituency groups will be convened after the election by the new president and a decision about who will serve on the board will be made at that time.

President's Report

President Williams reported that the Council has hired a new Executive Director, Carlos Jimenez; a report was sent to all affiliates and delegates today. He will start on March 17. He had hoped to join us tonight but was not able to do so; he'll be at the March 21 meeting.

Meeting adjourned 7:57pm

Submitted by Secretary Dena Briscoe

50/50 drawing: John Boardman, Unite Here 25, won \$131, and donated it to CSA.

<u>Attendance</u>

Emilio Abate, Unite Here 23
William Aragon, UNITE HERE 23
Frank Barile, IUOE Local 99
Aaron Bast, Ironworkers 5
Bert Bayou, Unite Here 23
John Boardman, UNITE HERE 25
Dena Briscoe, APWU, Nation's Capital and Southern MD

Donna Brockington, CLUW, Metro DC Chapter (AFGE) Burket, Unite Here 23 Robin Burns, DCNA James Capers, Violet Carter, IBEW 26 Melvin Cherry, IBEW 26 Clay, IATSE 22 Cynthia Collins, SEIU 400 PG Nannette Corley, APWU 3630 Stephen Courtien, CHOICE Seth Couslar, FAA local 1653 (AFSCME) Elizabeth Davis, WTU 6 Dan Dyer, OPEIU 2 Rick Ehrmann, Newspaper Guild 32035 Samuel Epps, UNITE HERE Local 25 Sandra Falwell, DCNA/NNU Farenthold, OPEIU 277 Carl Goldman, AFSCME Council 26 Larry Greenhill, Sr., DC APRI James Griffin, IBEW 1900 Korey Hartwich, NNU Donald Havard, IUOE 99 Paulo Henriques, IBEW Local 26 Edward Hill. AFGE 2782 Ann Hoffman, NWU/UAW 1981 Howell, Dumbarton Oaks/HUCTW Asher Huey, DC-Baltimore Pride At Work Jackie Jeter, ATU 689 Gwend Johnson, CBTU DC Chapter Justin Kenny, IUEC local 10 Victoria Leonard, MALIUNA Laborers Lakisha Little, DCNA Richard Murphy, NECA/IBEW 26 JATC Elaine Newman, NCAUR Olubukunola Osinupedi-Alao, DCNA John Page, IATSE 22 Thomas Ratliff, TEAMSTERS 639 Doris Reed, ASASP Gino Renne, UFCW 1994 MCGEO David Richardson, AFGE 12 Lauren Rogers, IATSE 22 Saul Schniderman, AFSCME 2910 Mark Sexton, IUOE 99 John Shields, SMART Local 100 Edward Smith, IAFF 36 Eric Starin, OPEIU 2 Susan Thaul, IFPTE 75 Timothy Traylor, AFGE 383 Josh Vandyke, IUOE 77 Gregory Warner, IBEW Local 26 Hugh Weathers, ASASP Anntoinette White-Richardson, AFSCME 1808 Bruce Wolf, OPEIU 2